hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Camping Oatmeal

The summer I was 12 years old, my friend Emily and I attended a hard-core canoeing camp in the Boundary Waters Canoe Wilderness Area of northern Minnesota.

It was on this trip that I learned an incredible fact about camping: that it makes all food taste amazing, regardless of its actual quality/flavor.

This fact was confirmed a couple of weeks ago when my husband and I ventured north of the city to camp and hike.  Breakfast was incredibly simple: rolled oats boiled in water over a camp stove, with raisins, walnuts and cinnamon added thereafter.

Result?  Best. Oatmeal. Ever.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

