hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lindsay Naturals Olives

This probably isn’t the most popular of sentiments among food bloggers, but here goes:

I love canned olives.

(Sidenote: I also love fancy olive bar olives.  But, they almost seem like a different food entirely.)

Canned olives were a staple of my childhood.  One distinct memory comes to mind.  When my cousin Mason and I were about six years old (me the elder by five days), we sat on the floor of my kitchen and ate a can of black olives.  We then poured the black juice between two glasses and drank it.  Well, I think I only managed a few sips of mine- salt attack!- but I’m pretty sure Mason finished off his glass of olive juice.

Suffice it to say, Mason and I were canned olive champs.

So naturally I was pretty excited to revisit the canned olives of my youth, though this time with a more natural version: Lindsay Naturals Olives.

They’re ripe and firm- not mushy at all.  Both the green and black varieties are delicious.  All of them come pitted and some of them are sliced, too, which is a time-saver for recipes.  Speaking of recipes, here’s one (though I’ll admit all of my olives were eaten straight up):

Fresh-from-the-Garden Olive Toss

Prep time: 30 minutes

Servings: 10

1/2 cup Lindsay Black Ripe Pitted Olives, drained, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup Lindsay Naturals Green Ripe California Pitted Olives, drained, coarsely chopped
1 small celery stalk, diced
1 medium carrot, diced
1/4 Maui or other sweet onion, diced
1/2 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and diced
1 small green zucchini, unpeeled, and diced
1 small yellow squash, unpeeled, and diced
12 cherry tomatoes, halved
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
2 tablespoons fresh chives, thinly sliced or 2 tablespoons dried chives
1 tablespoon finely shredded lemon peel
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

In a medium bowl combine olives, celery, carrot, Maui onion, cucumber, zucchini, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, parsley and chives. Add lemon peel, lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil to bowl; mix well. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Do Ahead: Fresh-from-the-Garden Toss can be made in advance and will keep for 7 days in the refrigerator.

Makes approximately 5 cups

Serving Size: 1/2 cup

Nutrients per serving:Calories: 89 Calories from fat: 72 Total fat: 8g Monounsaturated fat: 6g Cholesterol: 0mg Sodium: 136mg Total carbohydrates: 4g Dietary fiber: 2g Protein: 1g

Thanks to Trisha for sending me these delicious olives!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

