hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Starbucks Instant Coffee: VIA Ready Brew

Starbucks VIA Ready Brew Instant Coffee is about to be released in the U.S. on Tuesday (March 3, 2009).

It seems a bit ironic that after leading the way of coffee elitism, Starbucks is scrambling amid slumping sales and will try anything, including what most of us would least expect.

I am reminded of being in South America, mere kilometers from some of of the world’s finest coffee plantations whose beans ultimately fetch some of the world’s highest prices, and being served generic instant Nescafe at the restaurants and cafes!

Still, I’m not above instant coffee myself and when I’m camping or traveling it can really hit the spot.  I’d enjoy trying VIA and to compare it to other instant coffees I’ve had.

But, $9.95 for 12 servings works out to be 83 cents per serving, which is still far more expensive than brewing coffee at home (even if they’re Starbucks or other fancy beans).

Let me know if you try it!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Starbucks Instant Coffee: VIA Ready Brew

  1. For a while they had a free sample offer for it on their site, but it looks like they’ve taken it down now. I’m curious too though — when I get mine I’ll have to report back!

  2. Hi Sarah Eliza,

    Yeah, I missed that free sample offer. Do let me know how it is!

Leave a Reply

