hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bagels Homemade: Sesame, onion and salt

I consider most Saturday mornings productive if I get up, perk some coffee and read a few sections of the New York Times all before noon.  Compared to many weekends during college, this is, after all, an improvement.

This morning, I forever raised the bar for Saturday Morning Productivity.  I made homemade bagels.  Yeast, water, sugar, salt, flour, kneading, resting, rising, shaping, boiling, and baking.  They’re perfect and delicious.

I followed this recipe by Aimee of Under the High Chair and, gasp, I followed the recipe exactly.  Double gasp, this included using white flour.  I did keep the raw cane sugar for the sugar.  And I did allow myself one creative flourish for a topping: dehydrated onions mixed with salt.  (Poppy seeds and salt on the rest.)

Here’s the biggest shock, though.  How does Aimee, a mother of two wee ones, manage to make homemade bagels?  And how find time did she videotape herself shaping the dough for the helpful video tutorials?  And how does she clean everything?

‘Cause I just glanced in my kitchen, and it looks like a flour mill and a poppy seed factory exploded simultaneously.

Good thing some productivity can be postponed until the late afternoon.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Bagels Homemade: Sesame, onion and salt

  1. They look amazing!! Kudos to you for trying them out.

    Ahem, make that a 3 year-old and an 11-month old. I’ve got 2 now!!
    I guess I’ve just made them so many times,I can turn them out with everything else that is going on, like kids.

  2. Hope you have some left over. I’ll ask Tracy to get some from you!!

  3. Those look yummy. I tried to make bagels once and oh they were not good at all.

  4. Loved reading this entry. Thanks;)

  5. Hi Ted,

    Maybe you two will have to jog by tomorrow. No guarantees, though- Will ate four today!

    Hi Melissa,

    Yes, I was pretty surprised they worked so well- try this recipe!

    Hi Jules,

    A little more verbose than usual, eh?

  6. Way to go! You now have bagel-making checked off your list. Remember, God made bagel shops so we would have a place to buy bagels.

  7. Hi Lani,

    Duly noted. Before Will took his first bite I said, “Enjoy it- this is most likely the first and last time.”

    Especially when we have God’s Greatest Bagel Shop one stone’s throw away.

  8. Hello, I followed your wonderful photo from Tastespotting. Your bagels are gorgeous! Congratulations! I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making my own bagels for ages – especially since I live about 200 miles from the nearest bagel shop. Thanks for the inspiration! : )

  9. Hi Susan,
    Thanks! I will be checking out your blog.

  10. Omg, those look delicious.

  11. Hi Ben,
    You’re too late on this batch but next time… come on over.

  12. Pingback: Cooking adventure #1: Bagels « Melissa runs . . .

Leave a Reply

