hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sorapot Teapot: Packaging our aspirations

This morning I learned about product packaging at Creative Mornings, curated by Tina Roth Eisenberg of SwissMiss and hosted by Naked in Soho.

Designer Joey Roth spoke (via web video streaming) about his Sorapot teapot.  The outer box is solid tan with twine with no photographs, instructions or specifications.  Apparently this simplistic approach has been well received.

I think minimalist packaging is particularly well suited to a teapot.  People buying teapots want to clear their diets of processed foods, anti-oxidize, simplify their lives, minimize the clutter of loud colors and sounds, be Zen in the face of chaos.  Neutral packaging is the first step of a cleansing experience.

My take is that packaging is more about who we aspire to be than who we currently are.  That’s the backbone of a consumer society, I suppose; there’s always room for personal improvement and there’s always stuff to buy.

Still, I want this teapot.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Sorapot Teapot: Packaging our aspirations

  1. Ooh, I want that teapot too!

    Thanks for the suggestion on the black bean dip too, I hadn’t tried that yet! I actually just did my TJ’s top 10 last week – http://www.onefrugalfoodie.com/2009/01/04/my-top-ten-trader-joes-treasures/

  2. Hi Alisa,
    Yeah, Trader Joe’s has really affordable organic teas, too.

  3. Pingback: Seventh Generation Cleaning Product New Labels | Smorgasbite

Leave a Reply

