hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Recipe: Parmesan Garlic Flax Crackers

There are two types of people: those who make their own crackers and those who do not.

Based on purely anecdotal evidence, I am the only person in the former category, aside from the creator of this recipe. It is the recipe I have been asked for more than any other. It is a recipe that it is delicious and healthy. It is even gluten free. And Atkins-friendly. And makes you popular. It may save the world. So let’s get to it:

Parmesan Flax Crackers

Adapted from Laura Dolson

1 cup ground flax seed (either golden or brown, which determines cracker color)
1/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 Tbsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup water (truthfully, I never measure; I just add water until a paste forms)

1. Heat oven to 400 F.

2. Mix all ingredients together.

3. Spoon onto sheet pan which is covered with a silicone mat or greased parchment paper. Cover the mixture with a piece of parchment or waxed paper. Even out the mixture to about 1/8 inch (I use my hands, but a rolling pin or wine bottle would work too. The important thing is not to let it be too thin around the edges or that part will overcook before the center firms up.)
4. Take off top parchment paper and, using a butter knife, cut where you want the cracker edges to be. You can make long skinny sticks, big triangles, little squares- whatever.

5. Bake until the center is no longer soft, about 15-18 minutes (or for me, sometimes it’s longer). If it starts to get more than a little brown around the edges, remove from oven. Let cool completely – it will continue to crisp up. Sometimes I will remove the individual crackers that are done and continue baking the rest for a few more minutes.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Recipe: Parmesan Garlic Flax Crackers

  1. Pingback: Party Spread: Labels are helpful | Smorgasbite

  2. I would very much like to be in the cracker maker category myself. I’m just afraid my husband would eat them all before I’d get a chance to share them!

  3. The good news is that they’re very easy, and you can make lots lots lots at once.

    (I’ve got a cracker-sauratops at home too.)

  4. So pretty, and low carb! I am definitely going to have to try these. Thanks mucho!

  5. Pingback: Garlic Flax Flatbread - The LowCarbist

  6. Hi Eugene,

    Yes, they’re delicious!

  7. Pingback: Spicy Black Bean Dip by Trader Joe’s | Smorgasbite

  8. Wow! All I can say is WOW! I just made these crackers and they are delicious! they are crunchy, hearty, gluten free and filling! Just a few and you are full. They are a big hit at my house! Thank you, thank you so much.

  9. Hi Chelsea,
    I’m so glad you are enjoying them! I just love this recipe, too. I never get tired of them! Thanks for reading Smorgasbite.

  10. Jeanine on said:

    I just want to know if I can use the seeds instead of the meal in these crackers. They look delicious!!!

  11. Hi Jeanine,
    Yes, you can use the seeds. The reason I use the meal is because it’s easier for our bodies to digest the nutrients that way. But they’re delicious either way!
    Thanks for your comment!
    Hilary

  12. wow! ok, made these last night and loved them! These are going to be made a couple times a week for sure! My head is pinning with variations! I have a bag of pecan meal I need to use up- can I use that? Maybe 1/2 n 1/2 with the flax??

Leave a Reply

