hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fresh Flowers: Therapy in a vase

There are two types of people: those who feel fresh flowers are worth the expense, and those who don’t.

Like many things, I spent years thinking they were overrated, which just happened to coincide with years that I never had any around. As soon as I started receiving them I realized how much they brighten a room.

It is very important to change the water and trim the stems daily to keep them looking nice. Just as crucial is tossing them out composting them as soon as they’re getting to be over the hill. If they’re flowers you intend to dry and preserve, that’s one thing. But saggy, droopy, floppy flowers just look sad. Fresh flowers are supposed to symbolize life and romance, not death and neglect.

Every time I glance at these flowers (still fresh!) I smile. Maybe it’s not a convincing argument for everyone, but things that make me smile without fail are worthwhile in my book.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fresh Flowers: Therapy in a vase

  1. Hey there! I just found your blog and I absolutely adore it. It is so PERFECT. REally, such a feel good blog— I feel like it’s my little treasure that I happened to come across and no one else knows about it… Though clearly that is NOT the case 😉

    Anyways, I believe that flowers, in particular, ORCHIDS are beyond worth the price. Especially if you can get them to rebloom. My mom taught me VERY early in life that a vase of fresh flowers brings an energy that is incredibly healthy. Exquisite. Our orchids are rebudding as we speak and we couldn’t be happier. Divine.

    Thanks again for having such a wonder here! I can’t wait to have this in my regular rotation every morning and evening 🙂 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

