hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Recipe: Chocolate Oat Balls

There are two types of people: those who prefer baking and those who prefer cooking.

Despite my sweet tooth I am very much in the cooking camp. I am not very precise with measurements and I am liberal with substitutions. Therefore when I make dessert I usually make pudding, macaroons, fruit tarts and other things that can handle my lack of attention to detail.

These chocolate oat balls fit the bill. They’re no-bake, easy, and pretty.

Chocolate Oat Balls

Adapted from Anne’s Food, a wonderful blog

250 ml rolled oats
50 ml sugar
50 ml cocoa powder
pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup hot, strong coffee
50 g unsalted butter, very soft

Put all ingredients together. Roll into balls. Anne suggested rolling them in coconut or pearl sugar, but I tried coconut and couldn’t get it to stick. Perhaps because it was unsweetened and therefore not sticky?

Eat soon. Store in refrigerator, but, better yet, don’t store at all. The next day they will begin to dry out considerably.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Chocolate Oat Balls

  1. Thanks for commenting so I could find your blog 🙂 It looks very cool! I used to live in NYC and I miss it.

  2. I’m definitely in the cooking camp too! Baking is too rigid for my liking and when I stray from the recipe it never turns out! (Bad news for a perfectionist like me!)

    ‘Cooking’ allows much more freedom and creativity, I think.

    These little balls are gorgeous. I’d add some crushed hazelnuts or walnuts too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

