hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Double Boiler: Measuring Cup + Saucepan=Makeshift and workable

There are two types of people: those who love buying specialized gadgets for each kitchen task, and those who avoid them.

Like many, especially New Yorkers, I don’t have a huge kitchen or tons of cabinet space. When I read through a potential recipe I always worry that the last paragraph will reveal the need for an ice cream maker, juicer, 12-cup food processor or wok. Because I don’t have these things. And I don’t want to buy them because my oven already stores cookie sheets, muffin tins and glass casseroles that don’t fit in my cabinets.

Double boilers I’m no longer worried about. Not because I have one, but because I invented (though surely I’m not the first) the method pictured above.

1. Take a saucepan and a glass measuring cup that fit snugly together

2. Fill the saucepan with an inch or so of water (so that it’s just below the bottom of the measuring cup). The beauty is, you can see through to the water!

3. Heat over burner, following recipe.

Voila! I love kitchen utensils that serve multiple purposes. Multiple purpi.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Double Boiler: Measuring Cup + Saucepan=Makeshift and workable

  1. sangeetha on said:

    hi am from india and came across ur site from thekitchn. what a great idea. i was planning to buy a double boiler, but no need now. yaaaaayyyy. frees up much needed space.

    thq so very much
    god bless
    sangeetha

  2. Hi Sangeetha,

    Glad you found the site and thanks for commenting! It’s always nice to save some kitchen space, particularly for items you don’t use too often.

  3. april on said:

    just used this neat trick and it worked like a charm! thanks for the tip, especially for the gadget limited!

Leave a Reply

