hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stevia in the Raw: Cup for Cup Bakers’ Bag

From the makers of the ever-popular Sugar in the Raw (above right) comes a new product: Stevia in the Raw.   Stevia is a sweetening agent that is not an artificial sweetener but also not sugar.  More specifically,

Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni is an herb in the compositae family that grows as a small shrub in parts of Paraguay and Brazil. The glycosides in its leaves make it incredibly sweet, a property that is unique among the nearly 300 species of stevia plants. Stevia has been used to sweeten beverages and medicines for over 400 years.

In addition to single-serving packets (above left), Stevia in the Raw is available in Cup for Cup Bakers’ Bags.  Terri was kind enough to send me a Bakers’ Bag to try.  It’s in a large, plastic bag with a resealable zip top.  Looking at it, you’d think it weighed five pounds (which is its sweetening power equivalent to sugar).  But, it only weighs 9.7 ounces.  The powder feels nearly weightless and it quite dusty.

I tried it in several different foods and drinks and it seems that experimentation according to your own likes and dislikes is key.  I did not enjoy it in hot coffee while I did enjoy it in hot tea.  I did not enjoy it in plain yogurt but I did enjoy it in baked cornbread and refrigerator pickles.  I am still planning to try the cheesecake recipe from the back of the bag which sounds promising.

Stevia in the Raw’s website has a plethora of recipes, including the cheesecake.  It also has a section of tips which, um, I should read now since it may explain why some of my experimental uses were less successful than others.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Stevia in the Raw: Cup for Cup Bakers’ Bag

  1. yoda on said:

    I’ve read that Stevia in the Raw is 95.8% table sugar. Perhaps that’s why it can be used cup-for-cup to sugar.

  2. Marilyn Steers on said:

    It cannot be table sugar in cup-for-cup since there are no calories. The other ingreedient is maltodexatrin.

  3. Abbie Dennison on said:

    I tried the Strawberry Swirl cheesecake recipe on the Stevia in the raw bag last night. I was extremely disapointed! It tases nothing like cheesecake and the texture is off! The tofu & ricotta have very little flavor. There isn’t enough vanilla in the filling to prevent the tofu & ricotta from dominating. It could also be sweeter. I ended up adding zest from 1 small lemon and 2 tabspoons lemon juice and 2 more tablespoons Stevia in the raw to make the taste just barely tolerable. There also needs to be more crust. The crust is too delicate and crumbled as I moved the pan to the counter before filling. It also crumbles when the cheesecake is sliced. I think I should’ve added about 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of salt to filling. I used frozen whole strawberries for the coulis which worked but fresh would’ve been much flavorful. The cheesecake did set up – I left it in frig overnight – it holds its’ shape when cut but is very soft. My family each ended up throwing it out after about 2 or 3 bites. i think they would’ve spit it out had I not added the lemon! I think this recipe needs to be tweaked!
    Reduced fat cream cheese should be used in place of the tofu or ricotta or both. Also – you need to use a food processor to get the ricotta totally smooth -the recipe says you could use a hand mixer. Also the gelatin did not disolve well in the hot cream even after 5 minutes. It clumped and even after mixing vigorously with mixer I had to remove several pices the size of tiny peas. so I was surprized the filling even set up. I will not make this recipe again! However – I would like a reipe for sheesecake using Stevia since my oldest daughter cannot tolerate artificial sweeteners. So if you have a good one – please post:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.