hilary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homemade Salad Dressing: Tarragon vinaigrette

I bought a bunch of fresh tarragon at the market because I don’t think I’d ever bought fresh tarragon before.

Then it sat in my fridge for a while, making me feel guilty.

In the nick of time I used it in a delicious homemade salad dressing.

Now I can buy fresh tarragon again!

Fresh Tarragon Vinaigrette

Adapted from Wasabi Bratwurst‘s Everyone’s Favorite Fresh Herb Salad Dressing

What I Changed and Why: Kept the fresh herb to tarragon only to highlight its flavor; Kept the vinegar to just balsamic for simplicity; Adjusted other spices to taste.

3 tablespoon fresh tarragon leaves, finely minced
1/2 Tbsp finely chopped garlic
1 1/2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
½ teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon black pepper, fresh ground
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salad greens (such as one small head red leaf lettuce)

1. Shake all of the ingredients together in a jar with a tight fitting lid. (If you do not have such a jar then first whisk together all ingredients, adding the fresh herbs at the very end.)

2. Toss the greens & the dressing in a large bowl and plate it.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Homemade Salad Dressing: Tarragon vinaigrette

  1. Tarragon is wonderful! I’ll bet this was delicious. I’ve used a similiar dressing with asparagus and that’s pretty great too.

  2. That photo of the tumbling tarragon is so fetching, I love it. And as I’m on a serious tarragon kick lately, can’t wait to make this.

  3. Justin on said:

    This dressing is simple and wonderful! It actually got better and better each day sitting in the fridge, as the herbs and garlic infused into the oil. Thank you!

  4. Absolutley delicious

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.